Buddhism Course – Three Principal Aspects of the Path

We are excited to announce the next course in our series dedicated to exploring how Buddhist principles and philosophy are applicable in current Western culture.

This course will unpack the pith instructions laid out by Je Tsongkhapa in The Three Principal Aspects of the Path, making connections of this ancient wisdom with our current times. The course is designed for anyone with an interest in understanding more about Buddhist beliefs and philosophy as well as seasoned Buddhist practitioners. This short text, only 14 verses, contains the essence and basis of the entire sutra and tantra paths. It also provides clear instruction that can be applied to modern Western psychological therapeutic models.

The Three Principal Aspects of the Path:

  • Renunciation – recognizing the mental afflictions arising from our misperceptions that cause unnecessary suffering for ourselves and others. This also includes identifying the true sources of happiness and well-being and learning to cultivate them.
  • Bodhicitta (Great Compassion) – Recognizing and developing the incredible source of strength and healing found in the bodhicitta.
  • Wisdom – Developing the ability to understand ourselves and our experience of the world more accurately. In doing so, eliminating misperceptions that give rise to afflictive mental and emotional states.

This is a live online 5-session course with 1-hour sessions on Tuesday evenings. Sessions will be recorded you they can be watched later.

Dates and Time: Tuesdays, beginning on March 30th and ending on April 27th.

  • Pacific Time: 5 pm to 6 pm
  • Mountain Time: 6 pm to 7 pm
  • Central Time: 7 pm to 8 pm
  • Eastern Time: 8 pm to 9 pm

Cost: By donation. You may offer any amount

Register: To register make a secure donation below (any amount). The retreat will use the Zoom online webinar platform.

Donate


“Even though you experience transcendence,
and cultivate the spirit of enlightenment,
without wisdom from realizing emptiness,
you cannot cut off the root of the cyclic life —
so you should strive to understand relativity.”

– Lama Tsongkhapa

Comments are closed