Relying on Spiritual Teachers – Half-Day Retreat
May 26th – Online and In Person

We are excited to be able to offer monthly half-day retreats focused on teachings from The Heroic Heart, a commentary on the Thirty-Seven Practices of a Bodhisattva, by Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo. These are truly precious and timely teachings for our current times.

“Just as the archetypal hero possesses the heart to face trials and tribulations for the sake of helping others, the bodhisattva has a remarkable resolve to free others from suffering so that all may achieve true happiness and awakening. Through each challenge, the Buddhist hero of compassion develops rich inner qualities that empower them to be of true benefit to others.

In The Heroic Heart, Jetsunma Tenzin Palmo, an esteemed spiritual teacher with a lifetime of experience, illuminates the heart of Mahayana Buddhism—bodhichitta—describing it as “the selfless expression of boundless compassion.” Jetsunma uses as a touchstone the famous Tibetan Buddhist text The Thirty-Seven Verses on the Practice of a Bodhisattva. Here, she reveals how to become such a compassionate hero, the bodhisattva in training, and helps us to face the uncertain tides of the world, however joyful or dangerous, with a deep wish to find meaning and uncover the ultimate heart of wisdom and compassion.”

Each month our spiritual director, John Bruna, will facilitate meditation, study, and discussion on one of the topics from this precious text. The retreat will be both in-person and online and will consist of three sessions that are approximately fifty minutes long with a short break in between sessions. As usual, John will be donating his time and the retreat is offered on a free-will donation basis. All donations will go to the Way of Compassion Foundation.

Retreat Details

Date and Time: Sunday, May 26th, 2024.

  • Pacific Time: 8 am to 11 am
  • Mountain Time: 9 am to 12 pm
  • Central Time: 10 am to 1 pm
  • Eastern Time: 11 am to 2 pm

Cost: By donation. You may offer any amount.


Topic: Chapter Six, Relying on Spiritual Teachers.

Register: To register make a secure donation below (any amount). If you would like to register by check or in person at the retreat, email or call us, admin@wocompassion.org or 970-704-5512.

Online Attendees: The retreat will use the Zoom online webinar platform. There will be breaks and time for reflection, and questions and answers.